Confession: I’m no longer a virgin!

Today’s the day ladies and gents- I am no longer a blog post virgin! Hooray for moi. I have wanted to start a blog for a while now, but have always talked myself out of it. Mostly because I was afraid of what people might think, or that no one would read my blog, or that it would be SUPER boring, etc. etc. But now, all my doubts have magically subsided- and I’ve decided to finally start this darn thing! What matters the most is that I am doing what I love! What is that you ask? Sharing my yummy eats and healthy habits with you (yes, YOU!). I am a self-proclaimed “health freak” who loves all foods that are green, contain peanut butter, or have oats in it! Green peanut butter oatmeal anyone?! Who am i kidding, i love all foods- healthy ones of course!  Healthy Belly Ellie will document a little bit of my life, a lot of my eats, and some of my recipes! Enjoy!

First food post: My incredible breakfast that I had this morning!

Overnight Coconookie Peanut Butter Breakfast Cookie with Chocolate Protein Frosting and Chia Jam
Can I please make this title any longer? (actually i could, but i’ll spare you!)

Okay, so i realize this may not LOOK as good as it actually tasted- which was incredible might i add.

I have become a huge fan of the breakfast cookie! It is delicious, filling, and has infinite possibilities of flavors/ flavor combos!

Overnight Coconookie Peanut Butter Breakfast Cookie
(inspired by Fitnessista’s Breakfast Cookie)

  • ¼ cup rolled oats
  • 1 heaping tbs coconut flour
  • 1tbs peanut butter (creamy)
  • 1tbs peanut flour (optional) (but adds that EXTRA peanut butter yumminess)
  • ½ mashed ripe banana
  • 1/8 cup non-dairy milk (or regular milk for all those non-lactose intolerants out there!)

*mix all the ingredients together very well, and flatten onto a small plate into a cookie shape (or any shape you desire)- and cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

Chocolate Protein Frosting
(inspired by Healthy Diva Eats protein frosting)

  • 1 scoop of a good tasting protein powder (I used SunWarrior Warrior Blend Vanilla)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds (optional)
  • as much milk as it takes to make a frosting-y consistency

*combine all the ingredients together and voila! (I make this the night before and refrigerate, but you can def make this the morning of!)

Mixed Berry Chia Jam

(I used this method from Powercakes) only i used mixed berries and I omitted the stevia since I’m not a huge fan of the taste- this is a really yummy jam (not too sweet)!

  • 1 cup frozen fruit
  • 2 generous tablespoons of chia seeds (or Holy Crap – which is what i used)
  • about 2 tablespoons of water
  • sweetener to taste (optional) – i didn’t add

*place all ingredients into a microwave safe bowl, microwave for about 1 min and 30 seconds, place the bowl into the fridge or the freezer until the concoction is a “jam” like consistency. (i left mine overnight in the fridge- it was perfect in the morning!)

I LOVE to make my breakfasts the night before, because
A) It makes me really excited to wake up when I know that I have a yummy breakfast waiting for me.
2) I am always sure to have breakfast if it’s already prepared. (I NEVER, seriously NEVER skip breakfast) I just love it too much.
And.
D) I usually am too hungry in the morning to spend time making it, so when it’s already prepared, my tummy get’s quickly satisfied and it gives me extra time to do homework read my favorite blogs!

^Did anyone get that Home Alone 2 reference there? ☺

Just a little pic of my lunch- yumminess in a plate-bowl (not really a plate, not really a bowl) – i just remembered, pretty sure this is called a pasta bowl- correct me if i’m wrong! (or don’t, if I’m wrong than I don’t wanna be right)

chickpea salad on some spinach greens with avocado on the side

*also added some nutritional yeast to this bad boy

Okay so that concludes my VERY first post…

I just wanted to give a shout out to my blogspirations (yes, I am one of those people who loves to combine two words into one) for inspiring me to start this blog. I am really excited about it, and I would really love to read your first impressions. Also thanks to all my friends and fam for supporting my passion for healthy food and listening to me rant about the weird (but yummy) concoctions I create. You are all the best ❤

Thank you for reading!!!

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Oats, Peanut Butter, Salad

7 responses to “Confession: I’m no longer a virgin!

  1. Welcome to the blog world!!!!

    I know you will love it, all the friends you will make through it is awesome too!

    Glad you tried the protein frosting, your breakfast looked good to me!

    Happy Monday!

  2. Karen

    Love your first post Ellie, I love knowin what’s in your belly! I definitely think nutrition/dietetics is for you!

  3. Jane Mahoney

    Okay WOW! I am so impressed and I am already in love with your blog! (gotta love the Con Lime photo!) The way you write makes me feel like I am talking with you!

    A. The recipes you’ve already put up look delicious!! I’m going to have to try this while I am at home next week!
    2. I read your bio and love the tribute to the things you love! I miss the afternoons when we would just VEG out.. literally with a tub of hummus and whatever we could dip in it!
    D. I am already a huge fan and inspired to cook some of this yummy healthy foods! You are going to be GREAT at this!

    xoxo,
    jane

  4. Carrie Roesner

    Evelyn and I like your blog. We are going to make your breakfast cookie recipe. Evelyn requests you put a recent picture of yourself on your blog.

  5. Josee

    Wow Ellie…so cool glad to see you are pursuing something that you are passionate about!! Love it!!

    Chickpea recipe looks great..

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

