Here’s to you Dr.! Green Eggs and Yam

Green eggs and yams!

In lieu of St. Patrick’s Day and all its green-ness – I made green eggs and yam (fries)!

Okay, I’ll admit, the reason I decided to make green eggs was not because of St. Patrick’s Day at all – It was because (embarrassingly enough) I’ve been thinking of this witty play on words in my head for a while now, and I decided I just haaad to make my imagination come to life “a la Dr. Seuss.”

I discovered a few things while making this somewhat unconventional dinner:

1) Much to my dismay, I was not the first person to think of this pun. I always think I am more witty lame than I am, until I Google it, and sure enough many people have already come up with this genius idea. But, if I may modestly add- Google images ain’t got nothin’ on my green eggs – I’ll claim mine as the greenest!

2) While I thought my Magic Bullet could do no wrong- I was wrong! Turns out whipping spinach and egg whites into a frenzy results in OVERLY fluffy and plant-tasting eggs. I did manage to salvage the yolks and add them into the pan pre-egg flip. I love my yolks over-easy, that gewy yellowness makes for a wonderful little egg sauce! These eggs were pretty tough to flip, this is why they looked more like scrambled eggs at the end- although one yolk did stay intact (score!).

3) The third thing I discovered was that green eggs don’t look very appetizing, and they tasted quite bizarre spinach-y too. Let’s just say I probably won’t be making these untilĀ  Dr. Seuss’s next birthday-which is March 2 by the way…

Too bad I’ll have to wait almost another year to make green eggs…sighhhh

On a more delicious note, the yam fries were pretty darn dee-lish!*** I tried a new recipe that I made up (at least I think I made it up- won’t Google it this time). Ever since I’ve started making sweet potato fries, I’ve been on the constant search for a recipe that will make them crispy. I thought today would be the day to finally conquer the mushy fry and finally make them CRISPAY!

Today wasn’t the day.

The taste was there, the texture- not quite… (although they were somewhat crispier than my previous attempts)

***sidenote: I know I’m lacking in adjectives to describe my food– so far I’ve got “delicious” “dee-lish” “yummy” and “YUM-Y” – I’d love to steal hear some of your food describing adjectives, so feel free to help a sister out. I’ve got a long, tough, food-blog road ahead of me if i can’t come up with more than my four word list! Need to use my Yogi senses and summon all my inner Food Network vocab!

So anywho, here’s the recipe!

Coconut Battered Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

(serves 2)

  • 1 medium sweet potato (or yam)
  • 1 tbs cashew butter (I wanted to use almond butter but I was out)
  • 2 tbs coconut flour
  • Spices to taste: I used Chili Powder, Cumin, Garlic Powder, Salt, and Pepper (I didn’t measure so I don’t quite know the exact amounts) – use your top chef instincts!

Procedure:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Cut the potato into fries.
  3. Melt the cashew butter and a little water in the microwave and stir (add more water if necessary) until it becomes the consistency in between cashew butter and water…
  4. Coat the fries with the cashew butter mixture onto a cookie sheet (this get’s a little messy)
  5. Once the fries are fully coated- Mix the coconut flour and spices together
  6. Create a smiley face with the mixture.. (this took me a couple tries, my first smiley face looked evil, so i had to make it nice and friendly)

    Take One: Not so friendly

    Take two: MUCHH better!

  7. Okay you can skip step six if your not in the play-with-your-food-mood. Coat the flour mixture onto the fries until all is even!
  8. Spread the fries evenly onto the baking sheet and bake for about 35 minutes (turning them over halfway) until crispy-ish.

And Voila- There you have it! Green Eggs and Yam!

Yam Fries + Hummus = match made in food heaven, Green Eggs + Happy Face Ketchup = not so pretty. Kindly ignore the right side of this image.

The photo above was posted to show you:

  • my attempt at masking the overly spinach flavored green eggs with ketchup
  • my dedication at keeping the smiley-face theme of dinner
  • and to show you that not all my meals are a raging success in looks or in taste (looking at you green eggs!)

So there you have it! My post dedicated to an American Writer/Poet Extraordinaire-

I’ll admit though, don’t think I’ve ever actually read a Dr. Seuss book…

Have You?!

p.s. just made some VERY delicious (roommate approved) healthy brownies with a very special secret ingredient! (a legal one)… Will let you in on my recipe tomorrow!

Night!

5 Comments

Filed under Eggs, Green, Nut Butter, Sweet Potato, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Here’s to you Dr.! Green Eggs and Yam

  1. Suzanne Perrault

    Love the happy faces!!!

  2. you are m’girrrl! I love anything a la Seuss, AND i love my eggs over-easy, for same reason you stated above. This blog has the proper amount of seussiness, you saucy writer…As for adjectives, how ’bout a scrumpsh thrown in there with delish…yummers, yummo and siiiicckk also work…hahahaha!

  3. Taylor Koster

    Your blog is great! I’m a huge Yam fan – always wanted to make sweet potato fries but have been a bit intimidated to do so – will gladly try your recipe šŸ™‚
    Keep up your amazing work! The recipes look good and you write in a fun, humorous way – holds my attention well.

    Adjectives – ‘scrumptious,’ and one of my clients would say “Oh, it was gorgeous!” whenever talking about a dish she got at a restaurant. Didn’t know ‘gorgeous’ could describe taste of food but she is from Ireland.. I thought it was cute šŸ™‚

    • Hi Taylor!

      Thanks for the compliments on the blog! It really means alot!
      I never mad yam fries either until I realized how easy they were to make! All you really need are yams, oil, and an oven! (Make them all the time now) Still looking for a way to make them really crispy though!

      Scrumptious and gorgeous are great adjectives! I will be using them soon! Thanks for the suggestion! (I’ll give you a little shout out when I use them!)

      Could I have used any more exclamation marks? ha.

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

