I Can’t Believe it’s Hummus Brownies!

My first intention for these brownies was to make them raw. No cooking involved.

I could just see the title flashing in lights:

“I am not baked. Brownies.” 😉

Unfortunately, this name will have to wait for my next raw brownie non-baking adventure, because these brownies do indeed, involve the oven. These just ended up tasting better after a lil 350 degree oven exposure.

I lied to you a little bit: there isn’t actually hummus in these brownies. (But hey- this just gave me an idea for my next next brownie attempt “I can’t Believe it ACTUALLY is Hummus! Brownies”) – I know you just can’t wait for this one ;)!

These brownies don’t have hummus, but what they do have – is garbanzo bean flour, a.k.a. chickpea flour. You can’t taste the chickpea flour – atleast my roommates and all the other taste testers couldn’t detect the secret ingredient- and the feedback was positive! (brought them to class this morning and made my fellow classmates try them to make sure they were blog recipe approved!)

Compared to a regular brownie, these are FULL of protein and fiber, have no sugar added, and are vegan and gluten-free. Not to mention: Pretty darn tasty if I do say so myself. (The full nutrition stats will be below)

I am not going to lie and say that these are the BEST brownies ever, but for a brownie that is far healthier than a regular brownie, these definitely satisfied my chocolate craving… (If you can’t tell from my previous posts- chocolate makes a daily appearance into my life.)

Enough chitter chatter: Here is the Recipe!

“I Can’t Believe It’s Hummus Brownies”

with a trifecta of coconut butter based frostings/glazes!

Peppermint Frosting, Coconut au Naturale, and Peanut Butter Glaze

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup pitted prunes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup almond meal (finely ground skinless almonds)
  • 1/4 cup  coarsely chopped salted cashews
  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour ( I used Bob’s Red Mill Garbanzo and Fava flour mix)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Procedure:

1) Blend dates, prunes and water into the magic bullet until it looks about like the consistency of the picture below. Add more water if necessary.

Don't get too excited grandma - there are prunes in here! (hope you haven't just eaten or are in the process of eating - not the purrtiest picture to feast your eyes on)

2) Mix the rest of the ingredients into a large-ish bowl, then add the prune-date goodness.

3) Use your hands to thoroughly combine alll the ingredients until it is a big blob of brown dough.

Is posting a picture of brown blob of dough a "doughn't" in the blog world?

4) Portion the dough into about ten portions and shape them into a brownie – like shape about half an inch thick. The dough will be sticky- so use extra cacao powder and coat the brownies with a light layer.

5) Bake at 350 degrees F for about 12 minutes – flip them over half way.

6) Remove from heat and dig in! (Don’t burn yourself) –

wait, wait,… before you dig in- Frost them with one, two, or all three of these superr easy glazes.

….. While they were baking I whipped (literally) these up

Coconut Glaze

Put as much coconut butter as you desire – place into a bowl and whip/whisk it with a fork until it becomes a little soft and melty- then spread generously on brownie.

Peppermint Frosting

It’s not a lie folks – spinach makes a reappearance yet again! (For food coloring purposes only- you absolutely CANNOT taste the spinach) – completely optional if the thought of spinach on top of a brownie freaks you out.

Add a few drops (maybe 1/4 tsp or so) of peppermint extract in a bowl with coconut butter, then blend a couple leaves of spinach with a little water, and add to the coconut butter w/ peppermint. Whip it with a spoon!

Peanut Butter Glaze

Peanut Butter and/or Peanut Flour mixed with Coconut Butter!

I couldn’t decided which was my favorite frosting, but if I hadddd to choose, I think the plain old coconut glaze was my favorite with these brownies. Reeling in at a close second would be both the peanut butter and the mint. MMM mmm Yummy!

The heart shaped brownie is for my hot date tonight! - Hope it's boyfriend approved!

Here are the approximate nutrition stats per brownie- this is without the frosting : check out that fiber and protein! Holy smokes!

Nutrition_Facts_Label

P.S. *Don’t be turned off by the prunes in this recipe – you won’t even know they’re there!

Am I the only one who likes prunes? Prunes with Peanut Putter Anyone?

…..Anyone?!

(*cricket – silence- cricket*) ………………………………………………………………….

k, back to the serious stuff….

DISHES!

 

 

 

 

Would you ever try these brownies if I made them for you? Would you consider making them yourself? Would love to hear read your thoughts!

Namaste

5 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Coconut, Dessert, Gluten Free, Peanut Butter, Vegan

5 responses to “I Can’t Believe it’s Hummus Brownies!

  1. Jane Mahoney

    Reading your blog has made me excited to go bake while I am home for spring break! And your recipes are giving me some inspiration.. I may try to make these, although a trip to Whole Foods will be in order because I am positive my parents don’t own many of these ingredients.. We’re good on prunes, garbanzo bean flour… not so much.

  2. Suzanne Perrault

    I would definitively try the brownies if you made them for me AND if I liked them, I would consider making them! You make me laugh Ellie…you really are craaaaazy! But in a good way..not in a nut way…well, yeah! You’re totally NUTS!

  3. Wow, what an impressive ingredient list!
    I love how you tried a bunch of different glazes as well – so many options!

  4. Suzanne Perrault

    Hey! What’s for breakfast? I’m hungry!

  5. Those are SO creative and I wish I could just grab one through the computer screen! P.S. prunes and peanut butter: I adore! Thank you for reminding me because I haven’t done that in so long!

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

