Freedom Friday!! Glutton and Gluten Free that is….

Before I begin, just a cute photo from Pinterest:

This morning was a SUCCESS of a breakfast.

For me, pumpkin is an all year round good mood food. I eat it in the Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, in bed… you catch the drift ( I ❤ Pumpkin)

Glutton/Gluten Free Chocolate Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes for One

This morning was a pancake kinda breakfast. I prepared the batter last night, so all I had to do this morning was add them to the skillet! (morning fatigue friendly)

I originally planned on making these just pumpkin pancakes. But last night, in my exhausted state, I took out the cacao powder as well (sort of a reflex)… and added it to the batter. Upon the realization that I accidentally chocolatized my pumpkin pancakes, a little disappointment cloud drifted over my head. But I soon reminded myself that chocolate was good in everything, and the sun soon reappeared 🙂

Here’s what I put in these babies: (serves one)

(adapted from this recipe)

  • 1/4 cup of almond meal (ground almonds)
  • 1 heaping tbs. coconut flour
  • 1 tbs. cacao powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice + extra cinnamon!
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbs. maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 cup (overflowing) canned pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup egg whites

I mixed all the ingredients together, and voila- pumpka-licious pancake batter batter batter!

This morning I put some coconut butter in the skillet, and cooked the cakes.

I layered more pumpkin puree in between the pancakes, and topped them coconut butter, sunflower seeds and some more pumpkin puree.

My absolute favorite part about eating these (besides the taste) was the fact that the layers kind of mushed together, which made it seem even more like I was eating cake for breakie.

SO good! Go make some!

Not only does pumpkin taste good…

1)It’s packed with Vitamin A, Vitamin C and Vitamin K – as well as many additional health benefits!

2) It does wonders for your face…

Feels so great!

And…

3) It even looks great on your porch…

Here are some other uses for Pumpkin!

I’ll leave you with this quote from one of my Yogi Chai Roobois tea bags.

Thanks for reading!

I’ll be posting some of my non-breakfast meals soon!

What are your thoughts on pumpkin?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Coconut, Gluten Free, Pumpkin, Vegan

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

