Guess whose birthday it is?!

Hi there! Hope everyone had a greattt weekend! (Went by wayyyy too fast for me!) Didn’t manage to get anything done – good job me!

Today is a pretty special day! Today marks my blog’s .019178082 birthday!! (That’s 7 days) I decided to celebrate with a pretty darn special breakfast!

But first, I’d like to thank you all for reading and for the super nice feedback I’ve been getting! I’m loving writing it!

If you like or LOVE Nutella, you will appreciate this breakfast!

Chocolate Oats topped with Hazelnut Butter

Just looking at this photo makes me want to relive each and every bite from this morning!

These oats tasted like Nutella!!!

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tbs unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1/2 ripe mashed banana
  • 3/4 cup non dairy milk
  • maple syrup to taste

Popped this in the microwave for about 2 mins and 30 seconds!

Then doused the oats with hazelnut butter (which I bought at Whole Foods)…because I am addicted to Whole Foods. (I swear I can just browse the aisles for hours and hours and have the time of my life)..Yeah, I know, It’s a little weird. But I know I’m not the only grocery store loving chica out there.. Who’s with me?!?

Anyways, the reason I randomly have hazelnut butter in my fridge (because I know I never have bought this before) is because my brother asked me to come up with a really good (healthy-ish) dessert for a dinner party that he is having soon. I know he loves Nutella, so I’m going to come up with something with that sort of “flayva flayve.” Once I come up with it, I’ll for sure post the recipe!

I do have to say though- these oats were Oh Em Gee – freakin’ yummy! And I have now added hazelnut butter onto the list of my nut butter obsessions. It tastes so rich and different from other nut butters.. It’s an exciting (at least to me) change!

Plus, it melts fabulously on top of oatmeal and creates a lake of nutty goodness.

I want to swim in this!

I tried Hemp Milk for the first time. I bought it because I was curious to see how it would compare to the other non-dairy milks out there. Well let me tell ya folks – wasn’t my favorite! It tasted too “hempy” to me… My taste buds were just not vibing with this one.

Adding them to the oatmeal, I couldn’t taste it… But I definitely will stick to my other milk beverages from now on!

My favorite non-dairy milks are:

All of these flavors are wonderful! Really creamy texture!

And I recently tried this:

This one is also creamy and very delicious!

Almond and Flax are by far my favorite “milks!” I prefer the unsweetened because I am already so sweet that I couldn’t possibly handle getting any sweeter :).

That was a joke.

I like the unsweetened because when I make things involving these milks, I like to determine my own amount of sweetness – control issue perhaps? 😉

Moving on..

In my own tragic absence of mind yesterday – I managed to lose my phone while traveling to work. Well, in reality, I didn’t lose it. I know exactly where it is… Just patiently hanging out on the bus or the sky train wondering if its owner will ever find it again. Might not be there anymore. Who’s the lucky person who found my peace of cr*p (I like to keep this blog clean) broken blackberry? Keep It!

I was pretty mad at myself when I realized I lost it. Frustration got the best of me. Then, I thought to myself – thank goodness it was ONLY my phone that I lost. I could’ve lost a leg, my life- or even worse, someone that I love! I forbade my lost phone to dictate my mood for the rest of the day. I went on being pretty-darn cheerful.

What made it even better, was when I went to my phone carrier, they so kindly told me that I was actually eligible for an upgrade! I enthusiastically clapped my hands – (I was excited that I conveniently lost my phone just in time!)

Long story short- I was convinced by the phone peeps to convert from a Blackberry to an iPhone – I love it! If you have one, and don’t have the Battery Doctor app – get it! Super useful (and free)!

Back to some food:

Just finished lunch: I had –

Topped with nutritional yeast, tobasco sauce, and avocado. Along with Mary's Crackers (Costco has them for a good price!)

I had to open two avocados because my first avocado looked like this:

Hate it when this happens! (maybe that's why they were on sale)

I tried to salvage the green area, but it just ended up being completely in-salvage-able! This lunch didn’t quite fill the tummy to its satisfaction. So I had some more crackers and hummus. I have to restrain myself from eating the whole tub all at once.. (which I did yesterday- and often do). Whenever hummus is around, I’m around…

K so, I think that’s it for the day! Have some work to get done. AND laundry! This morning when I had one clean sock left and had to go through my hamper to get another sock – I knew it was time.

White sock = clean. Blue sock = not so much.

Have a great Monday. In four days it’s Friday!!

Ellie

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Lunch, Nut Butter, Oats, Vegan

One response to “Guess whose birthday it is?!

  1. do you eat clif bars like mine?:)http://bananahut.wordpress.com/

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

