Realization: I’m a Butter Hoarder…

Hello! šŸ™‚

Before talking about my butter hoarding, I’ll start with a little hummus, last night’s dinner, and breakfast!

Remember yesterday’s Pizza Hummus that I made?

Well, this is what’s left of it:

Taken before I used my finger to scoop up every last bit!

I told ya, I take my hummus eating seriously…

Must make some more!!

I’m running out of food in my fridge, so last night’s dinner was a bit of an improvised quick meal. But my was it DE-LISH!

Brown rice tortilla, apple slices, cinnamon, almond butter - all microwaved a teensy bit! SO good!

Love cinnamon and apples! šŸ™‚

Last night, I also prepared some overnight oats!

Mango Raisin Protein Overnight Oats
1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1 tbs coconut flour, 1 tbs chia seeds, a little bit of mango and raisins, 3/4 non-dairy milk, and some stevia for sweetness. (More milk added in the morning)

These were just okayyy… I mean, still good. Not my fav!

My favorite part about these oats was the topping: Sunflower seed butter and coconut oil!

When the room temp coconut oil encounters the cold oats it turns into a crunchy shell!

My obsession with nut and seed butters made me want to try sunflower seed butter (which I’ve never had before), so when I saw it the other day… it beckoned my name. My lack of nut butter purchasing rationality justified my buying it.

I have realized I am a nut butter hoarder!

I now am the slightly embarrassed proud owner of 7 different nut and seed butters (I know it’s a little bit ridiculous… but I just can’t help myself) – Plus, they all get put to use! No Butter Left Behind..

Hazelnut Butter, Sunflower Seed Butter, Coconut Butter, Almond Butter, Sesame Seed Butter (Tahini), Peanut Butter, Cashew Butter

I’d say that my all time favorite is the Almond Butter (sorry PB!). I’m officially converted..

I will probably not buy the Cashew Butter again (my least favorite)…

And the Hazelnut Butter (although amazing) is a bit pricey for the little container – so this’ll be a once in a while re-purchase.

The others though, I use quite often!

Is anyone else a butter hoarder? What kind of foods do you “hoard”?

Moving on…

Yesterday my brother called me and asked me what he should buy at the health food store… This gave me an idea for a post…

For most of my breakfasts, I more or less use the same-ish ingredients, so here are the essentials if you’d like to make some breakfast recipes I have posted.

  • Rolled Oats
  • Chia Seeds
  • Coconut Flour
  • Unsweetened Cacao Powder
  • Good Protein Powder (Vanilla) and Chocolate if you like…
  • Non-dairy milk
  • Maple Syrup
  • Cinnamon
  • Bananas
  • Your favorite nut/seed butter(s)

Frozen Banana and Frozen Fruit

Alot of my recipes use bananas!!

Frozen bananas and fruit for smoothies.

Microwaved frozen bananas, or just ripe bananas for oatmeal breakfasts.

Some other fun things I use (definitely not necessary):

Stevia, Coconut Oil, Sultana Raisins, Almond Flour, Cacao Nibs, Peanut Flour, Pumpkin Spice

Alot of these ingredients are a bit pricey, but are really worth it to me. I feel really great when I eat all this healthy stuff! Plus, they last pretty long!

(I got the peanut flour, almond flour, and stevia off of iherb.com) JTLYK (Just to let ya know)

Hope that this helped!

I’ll leave you with a bit of a disappointing lunch-making failure – (which happens to me quite often)

I’m diagnosing myself with “Unrefined Egg Flipping Skills Syndrome” (Hope this isn’t chronic!)

That poor little broken yolk šŸ˜¦

I’m determined to master the egg flip!

Have a great tuesday!

Ellie

3 Comments

Filed under Almond Butter, Breakfast, Coconut, Eggs, Hummus, Nut Butter, Oats, Peanut Butter, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Realization: I’m a Butter Hoarder…

  1. I’m a butter hoarder too!! And if people come over for breakfast, a little piece of my heart breaks if they want some on their toast. So selfish… I’ve never tried coconut butter though!

  2. superzanne

    Hi Ellie! You are so funny and candid.. I looked in my fridge to see if I was hoarding any kind of food (of course not!) Guess what? Mustards, condiments, seeds and amond milk!!!! I have 5 kinds of mustard, and in the seed department: pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, flax seeds, (golden and dark) sesame seeds…what does it mean?:) Also, I have condiments that I never use like salted herbs relish, dill relish, capers and weird pestos…hummm. Go figure:) For the almond milk, I love it so much and I never want to run out šŸ™‚

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

