Get On The Saddle – Yeeehaaaw!

Why hello there! How lovely of you to have stopped by!

This morning was a pretty productive day for me!

  • Had a great breakfast!
  • I went to class (Impressive, I know)
  • I saw the “blood truck” on campus so I decided to donate some blood! (a girl fainted while I was there, slightly scary- But don’t worry, she was O.K.!)
  • I finally found a summery purse! I was walking through our student union building and there were a bunch of stands with goodies! I saw this:

And it spoke to me immediately…

“Buy meeee I’m half off!!”

Couldn’t argue with that! 😉

I might have bought a couple of super cute summer dresses as well….

Shopping = the epitome of productivity! (I wish…)

Onto my lovely scrumptiously delicious breakfast. You’ll also want to make this one. I’ve definitely been on the overnight oatmeal saddle, but let me tell ya… It’s a great saddle to be on – Yeeeehaaw!!

I made steel cut over night oats again last night. Steel cut oats are now my new rolled oats – I officially am in love with steel cut overnight oats!!

Chocolatey Chocolate Steel Cut Overnight Oats
(I'm loving the window ledge for photo shoots!- I'm no photo taking expert but I think the ledge has great lighting!)

Chocolatey Chocolate Steel Cut Overnight Oats

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats (rolled oats would work too – just use 1/2 cup of rolled)
  • 1/2 mashed ripe banana
  • 1 1/2 tbs. unsweetened cacao powder
  • 1 tbs. chocolate protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup non dairy milk (i used unsweetened chocolate almond milk)

* Mix all ingredients together (I like to use a jar) – and let the oats chill in the fridge overnight!

Oats joined by my left-over butternut squash cheez sause, baby carrots, and almond butter) 3's a crowd...4's a partayyy! I clearly need to do groceries though...

In the morning you’ll be greeted by some delicious chocolate greatness!

Garnish: Hazelnut butter and coconut shreds!

I just love breakfast so much! I feel like it’s the only meal of the day where it’s “okay” to have chocolate as the main course… It’s like waking up to dessert!

Since I had barely any food in my fridge, last night’s dinner used basically all that I had left – but it turned out really really yummy!

Lemony Avocado Carrot Chickpea Salad

  • 1 can chickpeas (drained)
  • 6-7 baby carrots
  • 1/4 of a red onion (chopped)
  • 1 avocado (cut into little squares)
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • A bit of olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper!

*Stir all together and voila! A really quick, easy, and healthy lunch or dinner!

When I’m not eating hummus you can bet I’m eating something else with chickpeas!!

I used the left-overs for my lunch today!

I used 2 nori seaweed sheets (the kind for sushi), slightly wet them and spread them out making them overlap about an inch – then put some spinach, the chickpea salad, and mustard on top!

Rolled it up into a nice little seaweed burrito!

I love doing this with nori sheets! Eggs are really good wrapped in seaweed as well!

The seaweed gives it a great flavor! These burrito/wraps do get a little messy though! As you can tell from the fallen filling on the plate!

Not only does it taste good, seaweed is great for you!

It’s filled with iodine and iron and protein. It is also a good source of vitamin C, vitamin A, potassium, magnesium and riboflavin (B2). (source)

For lunch dessert I had:

Smal bowl of cereal with frozen raspberries and seeds on top! After this picture was taken I also covered the top with peanut flour (love the stuff)

Now I’m feeling full!

Full in my tummy!

Full of energy!

Full of determination to finish this essay I must write!

And…

Full of love to all of those who read and enjoy this blog! (corny but true)

xoxo

Ellie

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Lunch, Oats, Salad, Vegan

2 responses to “Get On The Saddle – Yeeehaaaw!

  1. Hey E.–was delighted to discover I can pin your stuff to my Delish recipes board on Pinterest
    …the chickpea salad spoke to me…I thought, hmmm, wonder if this is “pinnable”, and it was! (and someone immediately repinned it. You’ve gone viral, girl!) Going to make the chickpea/avocado salad, yum!

  2. Pingback: How’d You Get So Smooth!? | healthy belly ellie

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

