You’re Never Too Old to Play With Your Food!

Good Morning!

It sure was for me…!

I was greeted by a very cheerful face!

Isn’t that cute?

Yeah, I’ll admit, I’m a 20 year old who likes to play with my food… but I mean, who wouldn’t like waking up to this in the morning? Made me smile instantly!

I was FINALLY able to do groceries last night at 11:15 p.m. after my yoga class… (Yoga and groceries – bumpin’ friday night!)

I stocked up on a bunch of fresh berries that were on sale and fresh veggies! (and a few tubs of hummus of course!) Feels so nice to have food in the fridge again!

To make this happy face breakfast cookie, I used:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 mashed ripe banana
  • 1/4 non-dairy milk
  • 1 tbs cashew butter (any nut butter would work)
  • 1 tbs cacao nibs
  • 1 tbs ground flax seed (optional)

* Mix all the ingredients together. Spread on a small plate into a cookie shape. And add fruity facial embellishments!

Refrigerate over night…

Hope he (it) didn’t have too much trouble breathing with that plastic wrap tight over his face!!

My smiley cookie turned out great this morning… (I originally wanted to name it – then I felt like I’d be getting too personal and would feel bad eating it afterwards) So he (it) remained nameless.

In the morning I added some green apple ears:

And some chocolate protein frosting (1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder + water or milk) hair:

Then a mustache/soul patch….why not?

And then I ate this delicious breakfast!

My conclusion is that: You’re never too old to play with your food! It’s fun and okay to be childish once in a while when surrounded by all the other stresses of life!

Plus, playing with your food allows your “inner Van Gogh” to surface!

Get it?!? They both only have one ear!! 😉

So… enjoy life, loosen up a little, and play with your food!

It’s fun, I swear!

Have a wonder Saturday!

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fun, Oats, Vegan

4 responses to “You’re Never Too Old to Play With Your Food!

  1. Callie McGuire

    You are too cute! I thought the face was complete and then I kept scrolling down…that made my morning..I didn’t even eat it and I have a smile on my face! haha Love this idea…I’ll have to try it soon! Have a great Saturday Ellie…ROCK CHALK!

  2. elise

    that is so adorable. you are hilarious. van gogh. soul patch. im dying.

  3. Hélène

    Bonjour Élizabeth !!!!
    Je viens de visiter ton blog pour la première fois et dans l’espace de quelques clics, me voilà devenue “fan”. Ton biscuit du matin (31 mars 2012) et Van Gogh ont déclenché un fou rire dont je ne suis pas encore revenue ! Bravo ! Continue, c’est super bon !
    Hélène, ta marraine

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

