Oh MY Yummy Homemade Chocolate PB Banana Frozen Treats! Bonus: I get a little poetic…

Hello!! 🙂

How are you today?!?

I’m feeling full of energy!! WOOOOOO

I have an incredible healthy dessert recipe for you all today… it’s seriously amazing. I couldn’t stop eating these! (Thank goodness they’re healthy!)

First though, you’ll have to read about my sour breakfast adventures!

Last night, I just had this light bulb moment.. I thought to myself..”I love Oatmeal, I love lemons…Why not make lemon oatmeal?!?”

Sounds about as sour as it ended up tasting… Lemon and oatmeal just do not go together.. I tried to salvage this recipe by adding alot of maple syrup, but it just didn’t taste right…

My face did one of these after tasting it:

So unfortunately I had to throw out these lemon oats… (Now that I think back on it, lemon and oats just doesn’t sound like a good combination to begin with!)

I decided to make some overnight oats that went along with the theme of the frozen dessert recipe I’m about to post instead!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Overnight Steel Cut AND Rolled Oats

– I think I found the winning combo for overnight oats! Combing rolled and steel cut oats makes the absolute PERFECT consistency (In my humble opinion 😉 )

  • 1/8 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour
  • 1 tbs unsweetened cacao powder
  • 3/4 cup non-dairy milk

Mix all ingredients into a bowl, cover and refrigerate over night.

In the morning: Garnish with cacao nibs and maple syrup!

Yummidity yum yum!

Click here for a printer friendly version of this recipe!

Along with my oats I had some blackberries! (I rarely eat these, but they are so tasty!)

The other day, I was randomly looking through all my old Word documents… and I found a poem I wrote about food…

Ha, I have no idea when I wrote this! (Probably more recently than I’ll admit), but In my slight embarrassment, I’ll share it with you… It’s kinda appropriate, considering this is a food blog and all!

Here goes: (It’s untitled!)

Earth bound labor on my plate

Sensory explosions on my tongue’s blank slate

The world’s most soulful art

From birth to death, we will take part

From concepts to creations

Cooking for all situations

Beauty to the eye

Food for the soul

These incredible textures

Can I have another bowl?

haha… so there it is… (I think I’m asking for another bowl of oatmeal 🙂 )

I was also feeling adventurous today and decided to make some David’s Tea loose leaf tea again!

Sticking with the banana theme… I went with”snow bunny”

Really good, but I prefer the “alpine punch” from yesterday’s post.

Speaking of tea… I ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO HAVE THIS!

The Afternoon Tea (Cup) Ring – So Cute! I love it…

Mom, Dad… You there?!? My birthday’s in October “wink ;), wink ;)”

The website has so many other cute and original rings…including a coffee lovers ring, if you’re more into coffee!

OKAY NOW IT’S TIME…. Time for the recipe for the

Oh MY Yummy Homemade Chocolate PB Banana Frozen Treats!

Gosh these are SO good and SO easy to make!

All you need is:

for the chocolate:

  • 1 tbs extra virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tbs unsweetened cacao powder
  • sweetener of choice ( I used a little stevia)

for the peanut banana filling

  • 1/4 cup peanut flour****
  • 1/2 mashed ripe banana
  • 1/4 tsp salt

****(I assume peanut butter would work as well) – But peanut flour makes this packed with protein with less fat from peanut butter… get your peanut flour on iherb.com – so worth it! I use it ALL the darn time!

Procedure:

  1. Mix the coconut oil, cacao powder, and sweetener into a small bowl.
  2. Mix the peanut flour, banana, and salt into another small bowl.
  3. In an ice cube tray, pour a small layer of chocolate into three tray squares (leaving enough to top off the peanut butter filling at the end)
  4. Scoop the peanut butter filing on top of the chocolate, filling the square to the top. (You may have some left over peanut filling- feel free to eat the rest!)
  5. Pour the rest of the chocolate on the peanut butter filling.
  6. Freeze for a couple of hours (Until completely frozen)
  7. To pop treats out of tray, I just stuck a butter knife in one of the edges and they popped right out!

Click here for a printer friendly version of the recipe!

I really couldn’t stop eating these! SO good!!

Here are the approximate nutrition facts per square (provided you use peanut flour and stevia as a sweetener):

  • 94 Calories
  • 5 grams of protein
  • 5.5 grams healthy fats
  • 3 grams fiber
  • 4.5 grams natural sugar

This makes a great pre or post work out snack – and healthy dessert!

Okay so now onto some updates!!

I have fully updated my recipe page! -By clicking on the image of the recipe you will be redirected to the blog post of the recipe. By clicking on the title of the recipe, you will be redirected to a printer friendly version of the recipe!!

ALSO, I now have a Facebook page: Healthy Belly Ellie – Like me on Facebook to get updates on new posts, view photos from my recipes, and get links to all the recipes 🙂

That’s about it for today folks! Thanks for reading!! Let me know if you have any questions about the recipes/ recipe page or my new Facebook page!

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

Ellie

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Fun, Gluten Free, Oats, Peanut Butter, Sweet Treat, Vegan

2 responses to “Oh MY Yummy Homemade Chocolate PB Banana Frozen Treats! Bonus: I get a little poetic…

  1. This post has lots of great stuff…
    That little one’s face…oh, that is priceless! 🙂
    And yes, that ring is adorable…you must splurge and get it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Meet My New Love, Mason. | healthy belly ellie

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

