Breakfast Chocolate Almond Mousse?!? YES PLEASE! + Non-dairy yogurt face off!

Hey all!

Look at that sunshine blazing through my window!! A lovely morning it is…

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, yesterday afternoon I went to the lovely market with my boyfriend. I LOVE going to the market! How lucky I feel to live so close! It’s one of my favorite places!

Walking + Picture Taking = Blurry Photo!

I just love all the fresh fruit available- Look at those ginormous grapes!!!

Fighting the temptation to buy all the gourmet chocolates and dessert was difficult, although made easier by our limited pocket cash!

Next time though, I am getting the FRESH pasta they had – Wow did it look amazing! Nothing beats fresh pasta!

We ended up picking up some baby carrots, rosemary, garlic, and a couple filets of fresh lemon ginger marinated white fish (I completely forgot what kind of fish it was) WOOPS!

Oh and we also wanted to get a little “freaky” at the market and pick up a new to us vegetable…

Enter: Purple Potatoes!

They were great! Plus, I learned they are packed with antioxidants due to their rich purple color!

We roasted them with the baby carrots, garlic, rosemary, and a little olive oil! DE-LISH!

The final product:

+ a green salad on the side (with some hummus!)

This was a really delicious dinner. I absolutely loved the idea of going to pick up a few ingredients and using them right away to prepare our meal…It’s great!

Is anyone else a frequent market goer?! What are your favorite market buys?

Now, onto my Chocolate Almond Protein Breakfast Mousse!

The reason I call it a “breakfast mousse” is because it is super filling, healthy, and packed with protein! This really keeps me full for a good while!

I have been enjoying making this deliciously easy mousse the past couple of days.

You see, I LOVE the texture of yogurt. But my lactose intolerance limits the yogurt I can have. My only options are non dairy yogurts. Though I really am not a fan of SOY yogurt at all – It is wayyy to0 sugary and cardboard tasting for my liking!

I recently discovered two new yogurt options though!

Cultured coconut milk yogurt, and cultured almond milk yogurt.

I love both of them. But they both have their pros and cons!

Cultured coconut milk yogurt:

Pros:

  • Tastes delicious
  • Smooth texture
  • Good source of fiber
  • Great source of magnesium, calcium, and Vitamin B12

Cons:

  • Added cane sugar
  • VERY thick
  • Not much protein

Cultured almond milk yogurt:

Pros:

  • Natural sugar from fruit juice concentrate
  • 3 g. protein per serving
  • Taste is good
  • Most authentic to dairy yogurt (in my opinion)
  • Contains probiotics
  • Great source of calcium

Cons:

  • Lumpy texture
  • Not much fiber compared to coconut milk yogurt
  • Not as much protein as dairy yogurt

In summary, both of these options are great! I prefer the almond milk yogurt though just for the fact that its added sugars are from natural sources and that the texture is more “yogurt” like. I prefer to use these with recipes, like the one you will see below – to add some more protein and nutritional value!

So here it is is folks!

CHOCOLATE ALMOND PROTEIN BREAKFAST MOUSSE

(Soy free, Vegan, Gluten Free, Delicious)

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup plain cultured almond yogurt (cultured coconut yogurt would probably work as well)
  • ¼ cup unsweetened almond milk (or a little more – as needed)
  • ¾ of a scoop of good tasting chocolate protein powder (I used Vega One Chocolate)
  • 1 tbs. smooth almond butter
  • 1 tbs. unsweetened cacao powder

 Procedure:

  1. Mix all the ingredients into a bowl. Stirring for a couple of minutes so all the ingredients are well mixed together and smooth!
  2. Enjoy right away, or refrigerate for a couple of hours for a more “mousse-y” texture!

Enjoyed as a snack, breakfast, dessert, and even a frozen treat!

BONUS – You can scoop this mousse into and empty ice cube tray, freeze for a couple of hours, and make it into individual mini frozen mousse bites! SO GOOD!

Click here for a printer friendly version of the recipe!

I have been loving dipping cinnamon apples in this too!!

Hope you have a wonderful and sunny Saturday!

Much love,

Ellie

2 Comments

Filed under Almond Butter, Breakfast, Chocolate, Coconut, Dessert, Gluten Free, Sweet Treat, Vegan

2 responses to “Breakfast Chocolate Almond Mousse?!? YES PLEASE! + Non-dairy yogurt face off!

  1. where do you get the almond yogurt from?? I have never seen this before!!

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

