Foods That Intrigue!

Good Morning Y’all!

Here are some foods that INTRIGUE me…

I was at whole foods the other day and saw this:

I’ll pass on the bacon salt… But the Chocolate, Cinnamon & Chipotle Salt, Curry Salt, and Vanilla Salt – I’d LOVE to try!!

Cabernet Sauvignon Salt!?!?! YES PLEASE!

These are a bit out of my price range, but once I make my first million, these salts will be on top of my purchase list…Along with:

Oh EM GEE! Both of these spreads sound AMAZING! Ever since I saw a blog review of these two rawtella products, I have not been able to stop thinking about them! I must try these some day!!

Lastly, I saw this product the other day on the Almond Breeze Website:

I absolutely must must try these! Almond Milk AND Coconut Milk Combined?!?!?! TWO great non-dairy milks having a baby?!?! What could possibly be bad about that?! MUST TRY!!!

On to other news,

I have my first final today @ 3:30… Feeling pretty prepared! Although, I’ll definitely do a little bit more reviewing before!

To prepare my brain this morning for another day of studying and test taking, I started out the morning with some BRAIN FOOD! REALLY REALLY GOOD brain food!

Banana Blueberry Oatmeal topped with Sun-butter

I forgot how AMAZING hot oatmeal is… I was on the overnight oats train for so long that I neglected to visit my good friend hot oatmeal. This was really delicious. Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 water
  • 1/4 non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 tbs chia seeds

Procedure:

  1. Combine the rolled oats and water in a pot on the stove top on medium-high heat.
  2. Stir, Stir, Stir- then add in the mashed banana and chia seeds.
  3. Stir, Stir, Stir, – then add in the blueberries and 1/4 cup of milk.
  4. Stir until warm and cooked!
  5. Top with nut/seed butter of choice!

Great Brain Food: Blueberries, oatmeal, nuts and seeds!

I’m passing my exam thanks to this breakfast πŸ˜‰

Wish me luck!

Now off to do a little more studying!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Ellie

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Coconut, Gluten Free, Nut Butter, Oats, Products, Vegan, Wine

9 responses to “Foods That Intrigue!

  1. Coconut milk is delicious! I love it with granola

  2. As a huge fan of salt so I will keep an eye out for those! Also, the oatmeal sounds yummy. One question for you, I tried an overnight oatmeal recipe recently (yogurt, rolled oats, fruit, almond milk) and the soggy consistency of the oats really turned me off. Any suggestions?

    • YES I do have a suggestion :)! You can try using steel cut oats instead… They do not get soggy, but kind of ‘chewy’ which I love… I use 1/4 cup of steel cut oats when making overnight oats. OR you can combine the two 1/8 cup steel cut oats and 1/4 cup rolled oats for an “inbetween texture”… Also, I have never tried overnight oats with yogurt, so maybe try omitting the yogurt next time or using less yogurt? Hope this helps…Let me know how this works!

      • Thanks, Ellie! I will certainly try it and without the yogurt. It was really goopy. I’ve been enjoying your creative posts and thought I might have one you might like. I’m not a vegetarian or vegan but I enjoy the food of both cuisines often. One of my favorite treats is popcorn with flax oil and brewer’s yeast. I just posted it a little while ago. Cheers!

  3. Looks delicious (the oatmeal)-thanks for the recipe! As for the Whole Foods selection, it looks like the one you have closeby has a much larger selection than the one we’ve got! Did you end up trying any of the mixes?
    Great post!
    Anne

    • I am pretty sure these salts were a local British Columbia company, so I doubt that they would be in alot of Whole Foods…. I didn’t try any of the salts (they were a bit pricey) but I think I may try making homemade flavored salts!! πŸ™‚

  4. I just had my first almond/coconut milk combo this past weekend! SOOOOO good, especially in baking. The coconuty-wonderfullness came out so slightly and made it easier to cut down on sugar.

  5. superzanne

    Ellie, after the gymn today I had a smoothie with a bit of the pumpkin seed protein powder with some pieces of fresh pineapple and coconut milk – I used the non-sweetened So Delicious kind and its really really good:) I think coconut milk is my new favorite now…Love you nuts!…I mean lots!

    PS: Just kidding…I never made it to the gymn…but so intended to 😦

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

