Just Beet It…

Hola!!

Now I know Michael Jackson was not talking about these kind of beets when singing this song:

But that’s the song that inspired me to buy beets. See, yesterday at the super market… I was listening to my ipod while walking down the aisles, and as “Beat it” by MJ started playing on my shuffle list, I happened to walk right by the beets and thought to myself “WOAH, this is a sign! – I have to buy beets!!”

I should be a fiction writer… I wish that was the actual story of why I was inspired to buy beets. It is far more exciting than the real story: I was walking down the aisle and saw beets and thought to myself “I like beets, I never buy beets, I think I’ll buy beets today…” So I bought beets! (exciting, eh?)

Not only did I buy beets, I decided to buy red AND gold beets.

Just like “the king of pop,” to me, it doesn’t matter if you’re black or your white my beats are yellow or red.

Here is the recipe for the salad I made with these beets – If you’re not already sick of reading about beets ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cilantro Lime Golden and Red Beet Salad

Ingredients:

For the salad:

  • 2 large golden beets (cooked and chopped into cubes)
  • 3 small red beets (cooked and chopped into cubes)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup (overflowing) diced onion
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • pepper (to taste)
  • + 1/4 chopped walnuts (forgot to add walnuts to the pic)

For the dressing:

  • Juice of two small/medium limes
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tbs maple suryp (depending on the sweetness level you like)
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder

Procedure:

  1. First, I roasted the beets in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour.
  2. Then, I peeled the beets and chopped them up.
  3. Put all the salad ingredients into a medium sized mixing bowl.
  4. ย Combine the dressing ingredients into a small bowl, mix well, the dump on the salad.
  5. Mix, mix, mix, and voila!

A fiesta beet salad! AREEEEEBAA!

If you don’t like beets, you should! – They are packed with vitamins, antioxidants, and a plethora of other health benefits! Click here for more “beetails.”

OKAY, enough about beets! Let’s move on to breakfast!

My breakfast pizza yesterday was SO good, that I just had to make another for breakfast this morning. THIS one was even better!

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Breakfast Pizza

For the crust: Brown rice tortilla wrap.

For the sauce: 3/4 scoop vanilla protein powder + 1 tbs peanut butter + almond milk + stevia

Toppings: 1/2 banana, cacao nibs, cinnamon, and coconut shreds.

After spending about 8 minutes in the oven @ 350 degrees. I added chocolate drizzle over the top. Which took this pizza OVER THE TOP!

The chocolate drizzle was 1 tbs unsweetened cacao powder + a few drops liquid stevia + some almond milk.

GOSH, I want some more!

I’m happy to tell you all that I think that both my finals went very well! I’m feeling pretty confident! Happy that they are over with for now – my next and last one is the 21st of April – So I still have plenty of time to study procrastinate!

I have SO much laundry to do today… I always dread laundry day, but once I actually do it all, I realize that it’s really not that bad…! Right?!

My dad, boyfriend, and I are going out to dinner tonight! I’m really excited to see both of these handsome gents! It’s been too long!

Plus, love it when the dad is in town ๐Ÿ™‚ Yummy, FREE food! ( free for me at least ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

I hope you all have a fabulous Friday!! Does anyone have any super fun plans?!

Peace, love, and pizza,

Ellie

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Coconut, Gluten Free, Peanut Butter, Salad, Vegan

2 responses to “Just Beet It…

  1. superzanne

    Hi Ellie! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love your pictures, they are wonderful! You are prooving that to be healthy we need to eat the colors of the rainbow….and the earth! it all makes sense. I appreciate your enternaining education :). Love xx

  2. Pingback: Let’s Go to the Tropics!! | healthy belly ellie

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

