Wining and Dining!

Hey there!

How was everyone’s weekend? Did you have some good food like I did?!

My Dad was in town from Montreal, so he treated me to a weekend of wonderful meals and wine 🙂

On Friday night, we went to a place called Section 3.

It was pretty loud, since there was a Canucks game going on… But we managed to raise our voices enough octaves to hear each other!

The food was delicious! I had the best yam fries. EVER!

The Ultimate Veggie Burger: Whole Wheat Bun, Alfalfa Sprouts, Cucumber, Avocado, Sauteed Onions and Mushrooms. SO good! But the yam fries were definitely the best part!

I also had a taste of my dad’s starter salad, which I will have to recreate, because the flavor combos were ah-mazing!

Avocado, Mango, Roasted Red Peppers, Orange, and Jicama. I forgot what the dressing was... But it worked!!

Along with a couple of glasses of wine, I was feeling in a celebratory mood, so I got a mojito topped with champagne! MMM! Though, what made this drink great, was the stir stick that came along with it!

Haha how funny is that?!?

Dinner was wonderful, and my Dad and boyfriend got along very well! Winner!

Dan and Dad (Mike)

On Saturday, my dad and I made a little day trip to whistler for lunch. It was a beautiful day!

We had lunch at La Bocca.

I had:

Peppermint Tea

Good Karma Wok- This was good! ALOT of tofu (almost too much!) I couldn't finish all the noodles either, but the Thai coconut curry sauce was wonderful! (not too spicy)

And my dad had:

Sesame Tenderloin Wok

The views on the way back to Vancouver from Whistler were absolutely incredible! The weather was so sunny!

For dinner that night, we went to one of my favorite restaurants… The Sandbar on Granville Island.

This was a night of indulgence!… Which is okay once in a while, ya know?!

To start, we had wine:

Malbec.

What an incredible backdrop… I’m a lucky gal. Vancouver is such a beautiful city!

Then came our appetizer:

The Sand Barge: prawns, oysters, crab

For our main dishes, I had:

Sandbar Big Salad: mixed greens, tomatoes, beets, cucumbers, Kalamata olives,edamame, sherry vinaigrette - topped with grilled salmon.

My dad had:

Arctic Char with fried rice and veggies.

For dessert:

A little dessert wine! - very sweet, but tasty!

Lemon tart - I was so full by this time, I had a small bite to taste, really yummy!

Assorted cheese plate- I rarely eat cheese, but I had a couple bites because my dad insisted that cheese and dessert wine together go in perfect harmony... Ha, yeah, they tasted pretty harmonious!

After a wonderful day of great food, views, and conversation, we called it a night!

Thanks Dad for spoiling me and treating me to wonderful meals!!!

I love going out to eat, but I have to say, I’m excited to get back to the kitchen and start cooking again! (a day and a half without cooking…it’s a stretch I know 😉 !)

Have a superb Sunday afternoon!

Ellie

1 Comment

Filed under Dining Out, Wine

One response to “Wining and Dining!

  1. superzanne

    WOW! Incredible food and incredible views! Thanks for the tour Ellie, fantastic!

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

