Monday Mishaps…Onesie Wonders

Well, hello! Glad to see you stopped by!

So you know how I usually get REALLY excited and enthusiastic about all the yummy food I make?!? (In all complete modesty of course)…

Well, today will not be one of those days.

I have a screw missing in my brain this Monday… My breakfast, and my gluten free baking attempt…both sucked.

You win some you lose some, right?

Enter my failed breakfast:

Breakfast cookie topped with cinnamon and coconut butter. Mixed berry "green" smoothie.

My breakfast cookie this morning tasted off… I didn’t add the almond milk like I usually do – which resulted in a sticky/gooey texture not super pleasing to the palate. And my dark purple brown smoothie- looks delish, huh? Yeah, that was off as well – I made it with the pumpkin seed protein powder, and didn’t put a frozen banana, which just made it taste very “earthy”… Not the best folks, not the best.

You know what else was not the best? This gluten free/ vegan refined sugar free cinnamon raisin bread I tried to make this morning.

I followed a recipe for a normal gluten free bread for the proportions, but I went wild with the vegan, cinnamon, and raisin aspect of this bread. My wild side didn’t completely pay off… This wasn’t a complete failure… Texture wise it’s pretty alright, taste wise, not what I was going for.

You know the smell of freshly toasted:

That’s what I was going for – THAT smell, and a similar taste…

I got this instead:


Not THAT smell, and not THAT similar taste…

I will definitely try making a healthier version of the cinnamon swirl bread we all know and love, but this time I may try and swallow my pride and follow a recipe… Ain’t nothin’ wrong with a little direction!

If that second baking attempt doesn’t go as planned… I may just leave the bread baking to the experts.

Or try this:

But hey! At the end of the day (or the beginning- it’s still the morning), I am not complaining…I mean, what fun would it be if all cooking adventures resulted in pure amazingness?! Not that fun at all….Failed attempts make you really appreciate and excited for the successful attempts (and when I say “you” I mean me).

Moving on..

The weather here today in Vancouver:

Makes me want to curl up in this:

and watch a movie…

I WANT this onesie sweat suit!

No, you’re right, I do not NEED it…but HOW COMFY DOES IT LOOK?!?!?

Hope you all have a marvelous Monday!

; ) Ellie

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Gluten Free, Green, Oats, Products, Smoothie, Vegan

3 responses to “Monday Mishaps…Onesie Wonders

  1. I hate when I try new things and they don’t taste as nearly as good as you thought they were going to. It’s a downer!

I'd love to read your thoughts - Comment here!

